Chihuahua Forum : Chihuahua Breed Dog Forums

Chihuahua Forum : Chihuahua Breed Dog Forums (https://www.chihuahua-people.com/index.php)
-   Raw Food (https://www.chihuahua-people.com/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   Opinion on this freeze dried (https://www.chihuahua-people.com/showthread.php?t=170402)

chili 01-28-2015 01:07 AM

Opinion on this freeze dried
 
Check out this freeze dried food. It doesn't have and of the fruits or vegies like Primal or orijen freeze dried raw has. Has anyone tried it?
http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-fo...-freeze-dried/

Megsavs 02-09-2015 02:18 AM

I dont care for freeze dried foods. A dog needs to tear and shred and eat bones to keep teeth in tip top shape. Freeze dried food don't allow the dog to tear food and plaque will build up in no time. But it does seem decent by reading the ingredients.

lulu'smom 02-09-2015 03:52 AM

Lulu has been on ZP, which is air-dried raw, and some brand of freeze-dried raw or frozen raw be it Primal or Stella & Chewy or even Nature's Variety once for the past 2 1/2 years. She has never had a RMB as every time I have tried to give her one she turns her nose up at it, and she has very little if no plaque on her teeth. A diet of freeze dried raw will not cause plaque. Also, I am terrible at brushing her teeth because she doesn't like it, and the vet looks at her teeth every 6 months to a year, and they are always the same.

As far as Vital Essentials, although ZP is air-dried and it is freeze dried, they are similar ingredient-wise. ZP's protein level is 34% and fat is 28% and VE protein level is 52% and fat is 26%. I wish that other raw food feeders would weigh in, but for me personally I am not fond on that level of protein for my own chi as she is not particularly active. That level of protein can cause stomach issues. I'm definitely pro-raw, but I'm not necessarily for the food with the higher protein level for every dog. To be honest though, I'm not thrilled with ZP's fat level, but thankfully Lulu hasn't had any problem with it. For probably the past 6 months, Lulu has eaten ZP in the morning and Primal in the evening. Before that she ate ZP in the morning and Sojos in the evening because even though it is raw the protein and fat levels are low for raw food, and I wanted a balance for her. Hope this helps. :)

pigeonsheep 02-09-2015 05:00 AM

we're on primal freeze dried :) beef is the fav here. it used to be cheap online but now everything went up in price and it is a bit expensive but the pups love it and it is so good for them! they literally inhale it and we've tried every flavor but chicken since we feed boiled chicken already. we mix it with warm water so the moisture content is added! we are also on orijen regionals. some people say it's bad with mix raw with kibbles but to each their own. it has definitely been working for us. as for dental we use proden plaqueoff on the primal and then some virbac dental chews for KC and bullysticks/antlers

Primal Freeze-Dried Formula Dog Food | Review and Rating




Chiluv04 02-09-2015 02:34 PM

550 Attachment(s)
My dogs like Primal. We mostly feed Stella's and they love it!

MMS 02-09-2015 03:14 PM

I like vital essentials. I haven't used them as a main feeding source, but my pack adores the freeze dried treats. I prefer real food for my dogs, personally. But VE has good products in my opinion, and I plan to use them while camping this year, for convenience (last year I packed up their meat in a nice chest and it was quite a hassle).

Chihuahua Mommy 02-09-2015 06:22 PM

It seems like an OK food to feed your furbaby. I considered buying that for Dallas but i ended up getting him Merrick which the guy at the pet store told me was a very good brand.

Wicked Pixie 02-09-2015 07:01 PM

It sounds fine to feed as part of a rotation, but i wouldn't feed just one protein source as the entire diet. Dried raw products are definitely a step up from kibble, but you can't beat real fresh raw food.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright 2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Chihuahua People 2004-2009