Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We are new to small breed dogs and adopted a cute little chihuahua/terrier mix from the animal shelter this week. We are not sure how much to feed him and could use some help.

We have another dog (40 lbs) that we feed 1 cup, twice a day and would like to feed our new dog twice a day as well but could someone give me an idea of how much at meal?

He is suspected to me 1 yr 3 months old and vet weighed him at 15 lbs. Very active as well. We are feeding him Nature's Balance dog food.

Thanks

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Thought I would post a pic of our dog that I posted about above so you can see him. I'm not a expert on breeds so along w/ my question about feeding in the post above, I would love to hear from you about his mix. I think he looks more chi than terrier but what do I know :p

View attachment 5010

·
Registered
4,016 Posts
Hello and welcome,

He is really handsome !
I had a chi / mix - might have been terrier, he was 20 pounds.

It's hard to say how much to feed, it depends on the food you are giving him.
Different brands have different calorie content for the same weight of food.

To begin with, I'd start out with the recommendations on the food package ( or their website) for a 15 pound dog. If he's getting too much, obviously, he'll start getting chubby.

Lets see more pics :)

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
We are feeding him Nature's Balance Dog Food and giving 1/3 cup in the morning and evening and adding a tiny bit of wet food for flavor.

He also poops ALOT. I'm talking 5-6 times a day. Is this normal for this type of dog? I have to admit that we were feeding him more (1/2 cup 2x a day) until yesterday (when we cut down to 1/3 cup/twice a day) but seems that today, we're right on schedule for another 5-6 times of poop. He's already been to the vet and has a clean bill of health.

·
Registered
4,016 Posts