Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
12,272 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Was just wondering has anybody or anybody know, if you have a tiny chi and they don't come on heat,is it still best to have them spayed ?

·
Premium Member
12,272 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
She's 7 and a half months old ,and 1lb 8oz not sure if she will have a heat ,but not sure on medical grounds if it's best to have her done.Glad all went well with your tiny one

·
Registered
809 Posts
7 months is still early to assume that they are never going to have a heat cycle but yes, if they are not starting to cycle in a reasonable amount of time they should be spayed. You want to take away the problem of a pyometra.

·
Registered
7,558 Posts
wow, she is a tiny! I'm not sure when Evie will be spayed--it does depend on her size
and how comfortable my Vet is with the surgery...

·
Registered
118 Posts
I am a vet, and in my opinion, it is better to be spayed most of the times. Specially before the first heat cycle to avoid 98% of cancer and pyometra...But this decision is up to you. Some little dogs start their cycles later, until 1 year old. If you want to castrate her one day, better do it earlier as possible.
But it must be done by a very reliable vet. Some vets are not comfortable with tiny dogs, so make sure they do surgeries on little puppies or tiny dogs.
Your babies are so cute !!

·
Registered
407 Posts
Sparkles never came into heat at all. At 9 months of age my breeder spayed my 2 pound angel.Kathy, my breeder said she weighed 2 and a half ibs. prior to spay. I am trying to put a half pound on my soul mate. I am in awe that we have bonded so since thursday morning when she flew in with her courier.

Tori

·
Premium Member
12,272 Posts
Discussion Starter #8