Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
487 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So Sammy starting barking when someone knocks on the door or when my boyfriend comes home. She barks and wags her tail. I know she is trying to alert me and many books have said that chihuahuas are good watch dogs.

Today, someone approached my car while we were in it and I rolled down the window and she barked at the person. Again, she's defending her territory and trying to protect me.

So I have used "shussh" and given her treats, but she ignores them and continues to bark.

Anyone else with this behavior? And how did you deal with it?

Thank you!

·
Registered
4,425 Posts
Is she barking constantly or just one or two barks in those situations? One of the other threads on barking said to hide and make a loud noise and startle the dog whenever they bark so they'd think their barking caused it.

Cooper doesn't bark at all, so I'm no expert on this ... I'm not an expert on anything, really. :D

Chis make great guard dogs though; when I was a kid, we had our chi, Poco ... he barked constantly, even when there was nothing to bark at. One night, we had a burglar come in our house through the garage door. Unbeknowngst to him, he walked right into Poco's "bedroom" and Poco attacked. He growled and barked at the guy and when the police got to the house, Poco had the guy cornered. Poco was on the floor, barking, and the burglar was on top of the washing machine, begging for his life.

It always amuses me when I think of that because it wasn't like Poco was a doberman.... one good kick and Poco wouldn't have been a problem anymore. Silly burglar.

·
Registered
9,363 Posts
What I would do to have seen that :lol: I have a Poco too but he does that to other dogs not people.My stepdaughter is here for the week and Bella barks at her everytime she comes downstairs, when she tries to pet her she growls.

Cooper said: