Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Right, I'll start by describing the situation. The chihuahua in question does not belong to me, but to a friend's family. It is currently 6 months old, and it shows signs of aggression and anxiety (though I'm inclined to believe the aggression comes from fear rather than out of malice). He'll bark unstoppably at anything that comes near his territory, and is prone to snap at people if they attempt to handle him. He is 6 months old, and no, he has not been treated ill by his current family (this I will vouch for).

At a recent visit to the veterinary to ask for advice, they were simply told to go put the little blighter down, and I can partially understand that they are close to the point where they want to give up and go for this option. Thanks to my dad however, I have a soft spot for troublemakers and believe no dog is beyond redemption. Now, I am no expert. But I am a dog-owner, and I do have first-hand experience with "less than perfect" dogs, as most of our family dogs have been troubled individuals that had faced euthanasia if my aforementioned soft-hearted dad hadn't taken them in.

Seeing as this situation might head in the direction of euthanasia, I'm quite honestly thinking about offering to let the dog come to me for a few weeks so I can work on it. Yes, I am well aware that would not be "perfect". I am however not a complete stranger to the chihuahua, and he knows both me and my own dog (a Shiba Inu) well enough to relax around us. The pro here is that he seems to be less anxious with other dogs nearby, so having a dog he already trusts around might be good. The con is that my dog has a temper and tends to deal with young upstarts the "shiba-way", which can be very rough, so I'll have to keep an eye on them when they're together and crating of one at a time will likely happen.