Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
356 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Ladie,s,yeah me again, this little guy is keeping me learning. I have been walking Charchi , for a few months now.Dosen,t matter where we go even if we go to the same places,most of the time he will keep stopping and watching everthing around him.I dont know if he,s scared of something or just really nosy or weather he just dosen,t want to walk.He keeps trying to turn around and run back the way we came.Then he takes me over to where our car is parked, i think he wants to go home.Does anybody elses chi do this? do i keep walking him,?

·
Administrator
5,713 Posts
Is he an only dog? I would try walking him with another dog that he likes, preferably one of a similar size.
He does sound like he has confidence issues, so do keep taking him out or you will end up with a shy and fearful dog who is no fun to live with. Make sure his walks are super fun, include games and treats and constantly interact with him. Try and keep the mood jolly, don't baby him or you will reinforce his fear that there may be something scary out there.
Act like a confident pack leader and he should want to follow you. The dog shouldn't be deciding where the owner goes, that is challenging your authority, a dominant behaviour. You must decide where to go, he must follow you. If something scares him he should run to you for reassurance, not away.
I think this puppy thinks he is in control, and needs to learn a bit of respect for you.

·
Registered
786 Posts