Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At least this has been my observations of looking at pet-finder and chi rescues online. I've been browsing on and off for a few years so I assume my observation must have some merit.

·
Registered
6,831 Posts
It does seem that way. I just see more short haired Chi's in my area in general though. That said, they did have 1 long haired Chi at the rescue where I got Pip and Roo.

·
Registered
1,537 Posts
I think more SC as in general there are more SC in the US.

Our local shelter and SPCA NEVER have Chis. We only have bully breeds. Well and right now we have a litter of 8 8 week old Jack Russel pups.

·
Registered
2,074 Posts
We very rarely have chis at the SPCA here... they are adopted very quickly.

Same with animal control... they are pulled by breed specific rescues as soon as they come in.

There are a good bit of chihuahuas in rescue for adoption, though. And SCs are way more common in our area (I've seen only a few other LCs around here).

·
Registered
6,831 Posts
Same with animal control... they are pulled by breed specific rescues as soon as they come in.
Very true. I have heard that breed specific rescues pull them very quickly. I was told by the lady at the rescue where I got mine that they try and take as many in as they can as Chi's (and small breeds in general) do very poorly and become extremely anxious in that environment, caged etc. They do better at rescues where they are usually in a foster's home. Agree too, there are so many Chi's for adoption in rescue.

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
There are a ton of SC chis up for rescue around here. The longer haired ones seem to be part chi, part something else - like my Pedro, he's half Cairn terrier.

I, too, have noticed that the chis seem to be fostered outside of the shelters!

·
Registered
787 Posts