Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it ok to breed a full size chihuahua and a long haired miniature? Also I am new to this breeding thing. How long does the female usually carry the puppies. My dogs are 1 1/2 yrs and 3 yrs.
Is 1 1/2 to young to breed???

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

soonergal

·
Banned
9,271 Posts
if you mean one is say 6 pound and the other is 3 pounds - then it is ONLY ok to breed if the female is the bigger one if not it is HIGHLY unsafe to do so :wave:

·
Registered
1,796 Posts
I would highly incourage you to do more research before "Breeding". There are many good books on Chihuahuas. :)

sandra

·
Registered
34 Posts
hello

I agree with sjc I dont believe you are ready to any breeding yet, do some research if you do not wish to buy a book go under google and do a search there is plent of info there.

·
Registered
277 Posts
I totally agree also, breeding is not as simple as putting 2 dogs together to see if they will pair up. It can be a very complicated and scary ordeal and shouldn't be taken lightly. Not to mention the expenses that you can incure if the female needs ultrasounds and a c-section or has other complications. A female chi in the smaller weight range should never be bred. Also, if your willing to breed your female you should also be willing to lose her in pregnancy because this unfortunately can happen with complications!

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thank you all for your advice. My female is about 6 pounds and the male is a long haired that weighs about 2-3 pounds.
I didn't realize all the complications possible in breeding chihuahuas. I will definitely do some more research. Thanks again!!

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Just one litter....

Thought that I would mention that I am not interested in becoming a breeder.