Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,089 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Earlier this week I posted about treats and if I should start this with my dog. It was her birthday this week so I took some of the advice that was given in my previous thread. I got her some bully sticks for the first time. I made sure they are made in the US and are all natural. Dang, they are expensive. I paid 12.99 for package of six, six inch sticks. The package said for dogs up to 20 pounds so I cut one in half and it seems to be plenty for her. I finally gave her one today. She is going nuts with it! Two questions, (1) how often do you give these to your dog and (2) are they healthy and fairly low calorie? My dog is an adult and is now just under six pounds with a controlled diet (I measure her food). The way she is going at this thing, I can see that it would be good for her teeth. Thanks....again I am new to the dog scene!

·
Registered
1,968 Posts
Hiya, yep i agree they are expensive, but i also cut mine in half so they arent too bad. I also buy in bulk which saves more money, so you could do that in future?
I give Honey one every week - she normally demolishes it in a day! I dont leave her alone with it though, just in case she chokes.
They are very low in fat, should just be pure protein!

11 calories per inch
So a 6" bully stick is approx 66 calories.

Approximate nutrition fact (may vary a bit per brand):
Protein- 80 ~ 85%%
Fat - around 2%
Moisture - 12 ~ 15%
Fibre - around 1%

·
Premium Member
5,089 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Wow, thank you. I bought "True Chews" brand from Pets Mart and was surprised that the nutrients aren't listed on the bag. Cut in half they are 1.00 a treat.....that's doable. She seems to chew awhile and then leave it alone so it might last. I deliberated between these and the Blue Buffalo blueberry and yogurt small dog biscuits which I have to admit sound tasty!