Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
256 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, been playing round with Pixels diet since we got her as she's a sensitive soul with a sensitive tum.

It's good at the mo but I want to add in things to it and was wondering if I could give her the odd raw chicken wing even though she's not on a raw diet?

Thanks in advance :)

·
Registered
2,239 Posts
Have you given her chicken before and been successful? I mean did it upset her tummy?
Chicken wings are great to help clan teeth, and will also give your chi a great workout!

Your chi does not have to be on a raw diet to enjoy a wing :)

·
Registered
1,431 Posts
Im no expert but Im pretty sure that kibble and Raw are processed differently in the digestive system. When I made the switch to Raw I did it cold turkey as that is the advise I was given. You can probably expect some very bad poos.

·
Registered
14,441 Posts
If you give a wing, give it separate from kibble. Like at least 8 hours. Use it as a meal replacement. I'd try and cut off most of the fatty parts of the skin also. But yes, she can have a wing, by all means. I cut them into 3 sections and feed one section at a time, the whole wing would be a huge gorge of a meal.

·
Registered
3,012 Posts
I would fed raw and kibble separately. Like Tracy said, 8 hours apart would be best because of the foods digestive rate.
Personally, I'm not a big fan of wings. To boney/fatty, but good as a recreational chew. The only time mine get a wing is if it's a full size wing, and I take it away when I think they've had enough. Lola is a gulper, so bigger is always better!

·
Registered
12 Posts