Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I am not new but I haven't posted in a while because my first baby Chi Bella passed away :( She is the one in my avatar and I already miss her so much. Anyway, enough of the bad and on to some more bad really. My new chi Casey is having some serious skin issues. It started with his eyes getting all red and puffy and a sore by his mouth. I got him to the vet and we were prescribed childrens liquid Benadryl. When that didn't work we tried childrens liquid Claratin, also hasn't worked. Now Casey has these small pimples all over his stomach. I did some research and I his symptoms match Flea Allergy Dermatitis and Puppy Dermatitis. Below are some pictures of him when I first got him, and now. If anyone has also had this and has some tips on what it could be maybe, I would be extremely grateful, thanks!

·
Registered
11,144 Posts
i'm not an expert at all but maybe it could be mange? my rottie had mange when she was a puppy and her face looked like that. she needed a medicated dip and medicated creme to treat it.

he's so cute i hope you figure out what it is.

·
Registered
4,825 Posts
I pretty sure he's got a bacterial skin infection. That's what's causing the bumps. He needs antibiotics.
Does he have a musky odor? Does he have any other areas that have lost hair or bald spots?
If your vet can't figure out what it is, take him to a different one. What he's got can be easily treated with medicine, but you have to get it from the vet.

·
Registered
6,393 Posts
Poor little thing he looks so sore and sad,i hope both he and you get an answer as to what it is very soon!!

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
I agree with Jen I've had a dog with mange before and spots on the belly are one of the symptoms. Get another vet and get them to do a skin scrape. Good luck x x

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #11