Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there! I am a newbie here... We have 2 Italian Greyhound/Chihuahua mixes that are just over a year old. They are very well behaved, fully potty trained, and very smart... When we are at home they are fantastic and rarely misbehave. I have been crating them together in a large crate while we are away and that has worked pretty well. About 3-4 months ago we tried putting a baby gate in our hallway to close off a small area for them and give them a little extra space. So they had their crate and a very small space to be in.. I'd say about 25-50 sq/ft. We gave them lots of chew toys and bones and this worked for about a week with no issues. We came home one day to a small hole in the carpet. Our fairly new carpet :( So back in the crate they went..

Several months have passed and we decided to give it another go. We gave them the same space and again, about a week has gone by and no issues, then tonight I came home to another, larger hole in the carpet. I'm frustrated and sad because I really would like for them to have a little more space while we leave (we are usually at work for about 6-7 hours.) As I said, they had lots of bones and chew toys, we have a fenced backyard and they both get at the very least an hour of backyard playtime everyday.

I have my suspicions, but I don't even know for sure which one is doing the chewing. I understand they are still puppies and may need some more time.. But will they ever be able to be out of their crate while we're away? Has anyone out there had experience with this type of situation? Were you able to successfully transition your chihuahua out of the crate? How do I fix the issue if it's only being done while I'm away? Any help is appreciated!

·
Registered
6,172 Posts