Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have some questions about the chi's personality. Is there a "typical" chi personality? I'm new to chi's, but fostered a chihuahua/mix for 8 days and she was the most calm, loving, quiet, sweet dog I've ever seen! She was adopted into a permanent home, but I miss her very much and I'm now exploring the breed. Also, is there a difference in personality between the apple head and deer head? I wish I could clone her....she was absolutely precious and I'm curious if her personality is more of the chi or more of the mix? The reason I ask is because I want to look for another rescue dog with her calm, quiet, sweet personality, and want to know if she is a typical chi. Opinions please? Her description: She wanted to be in my lap 24/7. She was not interested in playing with or chewing on toys, or playing with other dogs. Her only interest was to lay calmly in a lap. She never barked and barely whined in the 8 days that I had her. She was shy, but loving. She was totally okay being handled and held by strangers. She was very easy-going and loved to cuddle. How much of these traits are typical for a chi, specifically a deer head, (if that matters)? What is your chi's personality? Thank you for any info!

·
Registered
2,206 Posts
First of all, the breed standard does not differentiate between deer head and apple head. They're just chihuahuas. I don't know where those terms originated.

The AKC lists this as the breed standard for temperament.
Temperament
Alert, projecting the ‘terrier-like’ attitudes of self importance, confidence, self-reliance.

My two dogs are as different in temperament as two dogs can be. Until I got Jazz, I thought Tango was hyper. :D But by comparison, Tango's pretty laid back.