Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been thinking for a few months of getting a puppy in say 3 or 4 months time, only problem is im worryed about havin to leave it due to work.

I work as a care assistant so my shifts change , but I work nights , however sometimes I need to do days and this would mean my puppy would be left alone for say 4 5 hours or so because my dad will be at work as well.I am 100% sure im committed to getting a puppy and im sure I can provide for it and all its mess and training ha.

Would it be worth getting the puppy looked after by a company or something?I know there are services like that , I just think I would feel bad about it, plus it would cost a fair bit , but I guess that does not matter as a puppy can cost you alot , vet bills , insurance ,food etc.I was thinking maybe If I took all my holidays at once from work when I got the puppy perhaps it would be easyer for me to leave it at home, because he would have spent a month or so at my house.

Can I have some advise guys?I feel like anyone I ask in real life tells me it would be okay while everyone on the internet says they never leave there dog more then 2 hours or something.

·
Registered
2,239 Posts
I think its jst fine to leave them for a few hours. I got Honey as an adult so I cant really compare her to you getting a puppy, but I can leave her at home for 8 hours, no problem at all.
My last dog Tess, I got her as a puppy! If I had to go out for any amount of time, I would leave her in her puppy pen, leave home at 9am get home at 3pm so thats about 6 hours.
I never has any drama at all!
I always left her with toys, water and food in her pan, and naturally her peepad!
I mean others may think different, but it worked just fine for me with both dogs!

·
Premium Member
5,271 Posts