Chihuahua People Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone I'm the new proud owner of a tiny 8 week old chi male. I have just learned that my guy is too young but unfortunately I wasn't smart and didn't research as much as I should have before. I have him now though so now I'll quit rambling and get with the questions :)

1. I want to sleep with my chi eventually, however I am a med student so I want him trained so that he is comfortable in his kennel during the day. I want him to be quiet when I'm gone at class as I live in an apartment so he can't be barking. Question is would sleeping with him now make leaving him in his kennel during the day harder? I come home every 2 hours to potty him, play, and feed him I'm just worried about him making noise. I have left him in his crate for the past two nights, giving him potty break every three hours however he whined both nights from 11 to about 4 am.... Sometimes his whines would get VERY loud. However his first night home he slept with me and didn't make a peep.... So would sleeping with him name make him scream during the day when I leave since he will become " spoiled"

2. Do you recommend flipping puppy on his back when he is naughty to show yourself as " alpha" dog

3. I am fearful of a loud barking dog, what is debarking procedure, and is it cruel/ expensive.

I love this little guy already and will do whatever is best just looking for some info, thanks to all.

·
Registered
1 Posts