Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,884 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So we are *thinking* about possibly fostering chihuahuas but wanted to see if anyone with experience in fostering could help us out.

I have been giving some serious thought to fostering but I've never done it before and want to know what are all the ins and outs involved in fostering before I take this consideration any further and contact my local shelter(s) and/or rescue. When you foster a dog, what is the foster family responsible for aside from giving the foster pet a home to stay at, love, exercise and attention? Would we responsible for paying for food and veterinary care as well? Do we need to also provide additional accessories like leads, crates, harness (for walking), bowls, treats, etc?

I'd appreciate any and all help and advice to help us make a decision before talking to a shelter or rescue. Thanks in advance! :)

·
Registered
3,889 Posts
when we fostered kittens they did pay for all the medical expenses but we had to buy all the milk replacement bottles food bowls etc etc. at a certain point when the kittens were ill they refused to pay for any more bills and wanted them euthanized we paid the bills to keep them alive one died and we adopted the other we still had to pay the adoption fee!

·
Registered
6,831 Posts
That's wonderful that you are considering it, Val. :) The foster is generally responsible for food, but usually the rescue will pay for vet bills and what not. I have heard of fosters getting reimbursed for dog food, but I think in more cases the foster is responsible. Most fosters also buy things for the dog like leads, bowls, etc. Some things may be supplied, but generally it falls to the foster. It really is volunteer work through and through with a certain amount of expense being taken on, for sure. Good luck and keep us posted. :)

·
Administrator
11,989 Posts