Chihuahua People Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

This is my first time on this site. My hubby and I picked up our 10 week Chi pup, Rocky, on Saturday and have got 2 weeks off work to settle him in our home. He's so beautiful and has been amazing since we got him, hardly any accidents using his puppy pads, playing and sleeping well at day... HOWEVER at night time it's a different story!! We started with him in his crate on the first night, we have a lovely fleecey bed and made it really homely. He started crying when we left him which we tried to ignore but he got really distressed biting the bars and scratching to get out. I spent most of the night with him and he wet his bed as well. The 2nd day we bought a pen and put the crate in it and left the crate door open at night so he didn't feel trapped. He slept very well that night but the following 2 has been unable to sleep again unless one of us is in the room. We've tried a ticking clock, small fluffy hot water bottle and the DAP spray but nothing is working. He's in the kitchen and I want to try and avoid having him in our bedroom but I'm thinking that might be the solution so hubby and I don't have to take it in turns sleeping on the kitchen floor!!!

Please let me know if this is normal, how long it lasts and any recommendations!!! Advice would be much appreciated. If this is normal and will last a week I'm happy to persevere but I don't want to make bedtime stressful for Rocky, and us!!

Thanks! Xxx

·
Registered
16,946 Posts