Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15,323 Posts
I'm no expert so I can't really say. I was told my Mr. Peepers was a pure bred but he keeps growing and growing. The vet says he could be pure but his mother could have been bred numerous times, losing the quality ( I believe that's how he said it).

Pixy is really cute but I know how you feel. You feel like you got taken. I can't stand how people can purposely let people think they are buying a certain type of dog when they aren't. One of the main reasons I wanted a chi was because of their size. I live in an apartment and didn't want a dog over 6-7 pounds. So now Mr. Peepers is 11 pounds!

I don't want to be nosey but can I ask how much you paid for her?

·
Registered
15,323 Posts
I was also going to ask you if you've spoke to the breeder? When I had a doubt I called mine and asked her. She sorta had an attitude like, how dare you ask me that. Did you go to your breeder's house to get Pixy or meet her somewhere? Did you see Pixy's parents?

Just know that our first chi's are a learning experience for us. We know what to do and what not to do the second time around. :wink:

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I paid about $600 for her. The breeder lived very far so we met him half way. I didn't see her parents. I havn't called the guy since I got her. I know I didn't do it the right way (look at parents, etc) but it's too late now. I will ask the vet next time I go to give me his opinion also. :?

·
Registered
6,393 Posts
It might be just cos her ears are not up yet and her fur a little sparce, it can take up to 3 years for a long coat chi to get its full coat.

·
Registered
3,457 Posts