Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I am a total newb to this but Peebo has been acting really weird around Princess lately and last night she was trying to mount him so I was telling my friend at work this and he said she was in heat.
Ok I have never had a female dog so what am I supposed to do? keep them apart Peebo is not neutered and I am not to sure if Princess is not spayed. I know I should have had this done but we were really not planning on a second dog and I have it planned for next month but what can I do in the mean time?

·
Registered
1,459 Posts
she may not be in heat - is she showing any other signs (noticed any blood around? thats usually the most obvious one, but sometimes you dont see any!)

I'd keep them apart until you are sure she is in season, it may be that she is showing her dominance over him.

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes I noticed some blood a few days ago on the sofa and she looks pretty swollen back there and she's licking it alot.

·
Registered
1,459 Posts
yeah - Id say she is in season then! Keep them apart from now on until shes finished with her season. If you dont show or plan to breed it'd be a good idea to get her spayed after her season or him neutered asap - its far easier than trying to keep them apart!

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Oh wow really? ok so I keep them apart for a month can she still get spayed if she is in "season"

·
Registered
14,441 Posts
Can you have someone keep Peebo until Princess is out of heat? If not, you are going to have about 3-4 weeks of work.

If Princess is swollen and draining blood/clear, then yes - she's in heat. She will be looking for a mate and she will be very determined to get bred. Peebo will lose his mind. (I'm not kidding.)