Chihuahua People Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! Rango and I are getting more and more into hiking in the woods together, and take 5-10 miles on a weekend day. I see so many wonderful hiking products for dogs, and I'm particularly interested in a good, sturdy, weatherproof harness with a handle, and boots to protect his little Chihuahua feets. The problem is that even the smallest sizes I've found accommodate dogs in the 20-30lb range. My guy is tall and long, but very lean and has very small paws. I've checked with Ruffwear and other similar companies, but have had zero luck. Does anyone have a clue where I could purchase such items? Or is anyone on here super into DIY projects that has ideas of how I could fashion something myself? I'm particularly interested in the harness, as I'd like to be able to safely and quickly grab him up if need be.

·
Premium Member
6,617 Posts
I have no experience on hiking gear as I don't hike. But there must be some place online where you can find boots. Maybe check some online sites like doggievogue.com, doggiecoutureshop.com, baxterboo.com and ebay.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
16,946 Posts
There's a lot of places that sell boots for small breeds online :) I went mountain hiking with Dexter last year and he climbed to the top fine with just his bare feet lol. He had on a regular buddybelt type of harness and was great.

·
Premium Member
5,277 Posts
Kody, Peso and me go 'hiking' on the Rails & Trails at Big Pool, MD. Its about 20 miles of asphalt and level ground (I know rough, isn't it) :) .... we also go to the Rock Gap State Park to hike in the woods....