Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been looking online at different chihuahua breeders that are near where I live, just for future reference. I can't get a chi right now but hopefully will soon. I was wondering how you can tell if the breeder is any good? and how much do the chi's cost usually? I'm looking for a Chocolate/black and tan short hair female :) that's my dream chihuahua :) thanks for any information. I'm still learning.

·
Banned
6,940 Posts
You will probably expect to pay upwards of $450 to $1000 for a really nice pet. It varies by breeder. Some good breeders sell for $3-$400, but, MOST do not, so I would say on average do expect in the $500-$700 range :)

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ah ok, thanks :) I LOVE your siggy, your dogs are really cute! Whenever my boyfriend and I are both financially able to move in together i'm going to get a chihuahua :) I want one but my parent's dont want any more pets. We have a cat right now. So I have to wait. So in the mean time i'm trying to learn all I can and possibly find some decent breeders in the area to look at for whenever the time does come when I'm able to get one.

·
Registered
3,126 Posts
I think it definitely depends on where you're at, too.

While some people are very against online adds; there ARE quality breeders that will advertise that way. DO follow the guidelines to make certain their responsible; but looking on places like ebayclassifieds (kijiji) can help you get a good idea of what to pay in your area.

I'm in IL and it's not at all uncommon to find a litter of quality bred chi pups for between $100-$300. But there's also a LOT of them around here; so the price needs to be competitive. That said I also live barely an hour from the 2 largest cities; so with the increased population you have more people breeding.