Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just picked him up today from the humane's society and they didn't know how much to tell me to feed him.

So my brother and I were feeding him a handful of kibble mixed with this soft food stuff my sisterinlaw feeds her 10 month old dalmation, who by the way scared my puppy :x .

Please if you know an exact amount like 1/2 a cup or a full cup or two handfuls....let me know.

I'm brand new to this whole small puppy thing and he's only 2 months old!

Oh yea...for give me for any stupid questions....I've only seen big puppies raised....irish setters and dalmations.

·
Registered
2,337 Posts
Hi there, congratulations on your new puppy!
I got Poppy at 10 week sold and I also wasnt sure how much to feed her, but my vet told me this; a little puppy needs to eat about 3-4 times a day and as for the ammount...he told me that you should give a portion that is equal to the size of the top of the puppy's head! It sounded weird at first, but if you put a circle of kibble on a dish that is roughly the size of the top of its head, i.e, the space between its ears and down to its forhead...it seems about right. as the puppy grows, so does the serving size!
I give my little one this ammount mixed with about 2 sponfuls of pedigree puppy pack food (wet) and mix it all together. She is doing really well on it and gaining weight at a good rate.
I have now cut her down from 4 times a dy to three as she seems to only need that now.
Hope this helps!

·
Registered
70 Posts