Chihuahua People Forum banner

How much attention does a Chi. need??

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  laurelsmom 
#1 ·
I graduated college about a year ago and for the last 6 months I am now working full time consistently. It's been a rough adjustment but I feel like I still don't have enough quality time I'm spending with my Chi. Seems like all I do these days is work , cook , clean , run errands, relaxing with a 30min tv show , and sleep. And 5 min of hungs and kisses with my Chi.

Long term goal is to get an online job so I can work from home and spent more time with my Chi. However in order for me to do that I'm going to have to work really really hard studying and learning for that job while im working 40 hours a week!

I live in a small apartment by myself, I dreamed of having 2 if not 3 chi's (likely only 2 due to apartment limits) but I feel now is not a good time to be expanding our pack as training a new puppy and giving a new puppy love and attention means less time with my Vida. However then she would have a play buddy so long term I think it would be better... but just not ready.

Is it OK to start with my learn (thinking of it as a part time job) that is going to eat up even more of my free time. I been getting frustrated at time seeing my chi wanting more attention while I'm desperately trying to catch up on house work she wants to play or wants hugs and attention.

I just can't seem to get everything done. I couldn't dream of getting rid of her but, long term I'd want to be able to spend more time with her so maybe it's best to spend less time with here short term (6-18mo.) so long term we can have more time? She is already 8 years old so I worry that when I do have more time she will be old enough to be over playing and jumping around and just want to relax when I'm ready to go explore with here and have fun.