Chihuahua People Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm a newbie and i do not have a chihuahua, but I'm seriously preparing for one. I'm planning to work over the summer to get money to buy my chi. 8) Can anyone please tell my the average start-up cost for a chi. I really hope to get to know everyone on the board all your help will be most appreciated! :eek: Thank You :wave:

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
Let's see.. My chi cost $600.

Plus you'll need a crate ($30-70).

Toys - $30

First Round of Shots and Visits - $70

Food - $15

-- I would estimate a little over $800 for start up.. but that doesn't mean anything ecause my chi still manages to drain a whole in my wallet ;) You'll find yourself spending your last dollar on a gift for your chi, believe you, me!

I am over $2000 in debt because of my boy.

·
Registered
7,269 Posts
Holy Hannah !! That is a pretty price list you gave if I saw that I wold start to cry cause I couldnt afford to get a chi. I think it all depends on where you get your chi from I would check local papers for puppies or maybe look into a shelter or rescue group I know everyone wants a puppy but just think of all those pets in need of a home out there. Anyway I got my chi for FREE he came from my boyfriends dad so he had all his puppy shots & he came with his own blanket. All I had to get was food{ cost depends on where you buy it Im a walmart shopper} bowls & a few toys. I think if you budget correctly & dont buy silly things at first {like clothes there cute but not neccisary, at least not right away] youll have no problem getting a chi. Good Luck & let us know what happens.

·
Registered
3,457 Posts
:wave: WELCOME! :wave:

My Chi was $700 CD (Canadian)

Our trip to get him was around $100+