Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 6mo. old little cutie Chi named Lola. I love her SO much and she is definalty a momma's girl! I am worried because she is terribly shy. She almost acts as though she has been abused somehow. When we bring her out in public she won't walk, so needs to be carried. When strangers looks at her she buries her head in my neck. When we have company over she runs under the bed and will not come out until they leave. I have never owned a Chi before (I have always had Yorkies) is this normal behavior? Is there anything I should do to help her not be so afraid of everything? It makes me feel sad b/c I want her to be happy, but she seems like she is terrified at all times! Any advice would be appreciated!

·
Registered
897 Posts
First, welcome!

From various things I have read, this isn't all that uncommon with chis. But then, I'm not an expert so I could be corrected there. But chis are very family oriented so I wouldn't be surprised by the behavior when she is around people outside of the family. Angel can get that way at times. I always tell people that the best way to deal with Angel is to either wait and let her approach them first or talk to her from a distance and then approach slowly. Offer a hand (palm side up) below head level and let her sniff it. After that she tends to warm up a little. But all in all, she just loves to be talked to. That usually breaks the ice with her.

Best thing you can do is work on socialing her with other people. Take her out or have company over. Just take meetings slow so as not to upset her too much. Whether or not she will get over it, I don't know but that would be my suggestion. I'm sure more seasoned chi owners will have more advice. :)

·
Registered
2,061 Posts
I think Lilly's mom can help you....Rachael where are you??? :D