Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have the chance of buying 1 of these puppies but I'd like your opinions on them please. I am a little concerned that they are saying they can go at 8 weeks. Do you think this is too young? The first pic is a girl and the second a boy.

I hope the photos have attached because I've never done it before! I think they have!

·
Registered
61 Posts
Aww they are both too cute! From what I have read in the books Chihuahua's should leave momma around 10-12 weeks. But we just got Macie friday and she was just short of 10 weeks. Good luck!

Michelle

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Gorgeous arn't they. I havn't been to see them yet but I am bothered that 8 weeks is too young for a Chi to leave Mum. I would have prefered 10-12weeks as you say. I'll see what other people think but that you for your reply.

Sue

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I agree i think it's too young and I've pointed this out to the breeder who has replied that they are fully weaned and he always sells his puppies at 8 weeks and he doesn't know where I've got 10-12 weeks from. I think I've slightly annoyed him!

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I rather doubt it from his reply which insinuated that I didn't really know what I was talking about. I seem to have got his back up a bit!

·
Registered
14,441 Posts
Well, the older puppies get, the more WORK they are! Mom isn't cleaning up after them anymore, they are rambunctious, they make a mess of their food, they pee and poo ... a LOT. They are a lot of work for sure.

Some breeders are more than ready to get them out of their house and into new homes as soon as they can! Less work for them! The longer they keep them, the lower their profits sink as they buy more puppy food, puppy pads, and invest a lot of time in feeding them and cleaning up after them.