Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
16,946 Posts
appropriate? when i did it. i just called up the vet and told them im new to their place and want an appointment and all they said was to bring all records thus far of what dexter had done so they could make copies and that was that lol

·
Registered
497 Posts
You dont have to tell them anything if you dont feel comfortable with doing so. If there is a reason such as over priced services or staff that isnt knowledgable then you can say that in a nice way.

Since i never saw my old vets outside of the clinic i just stoped going but if you live in a small town i can see why you would want to keep things Kosher.

·
Registered
6,831 Posts
I meant more of, how do you "chuck" the old vet, LOL.
I've been in this position. I just ditched them. I'm so picky about vets, everything has to be just right or I'm out of there. I just go to the new vet and have the records sent over. I did this a few times during my Pom's life and then stuck with one for awhile. Then toward the end of her life I become really agitated at the vet I was taking her to. I didn't like his recommendations about her care when she started to have health problems in her last year. I shopped around for a new vet and eventually found one that I just love. He is amazing. I took my Pom to him the last year of her life and now Pip and Roo. A good vet is worth their weight in gold. If you're not happy, don't worry about chucking him, just do it. :)

·
Registered
912 Posts
Same here. I knew exactly what concerns I had with Lo's first vet and the reasons why I didn't want to return! When I called to have her records transferred I was prepared to tell them (politely but matter of factly) why I was seeking a new Dr. They didn't ask, btw. haha. But if they had, maybe they could have bettered their services from the constructive criticism! :D

In the end, do what you feel is right and what makes you comfortable without hesitation! :)

·