Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2,206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very, very frustrated. Jazz is almost 1 1/2 years old, and it STILL not reliably potty trained! :foxes15:

I might be less frustrated if I hadn't also trained Tango with a great deal more ease than I'm experiencing with Jazz. While Tango had his moments, he progressed fairly easily and is 100% trained now, and we accomplished that with a minimum of fuss and bother.

Here's the problem with Jazz...she keeps peeing in the hallway, because for some reason she's decided that it's COMPLETELY OK to pee there! Why, I have no clue! She won't pee in the computer room, sitting room, bathroom (except on the designated pee pad) but will leave any of those rooms (and there's a pee pad in each) to go squat in the hallway to pee! GAH!!!! WHAT IS HER PROBLEM??????

I'm not a newbie at this training thing guys. I've trained dogs all my life, and already mentioned, successfully trained Tango quickly and reliably. I'm not uninformed, uneducated or clueless. I've done all the obvious things, and yes, I've practically stripped the finish off the hallway hardwood I've treated it so thoroughly and so often to make certain there's no residual odor to encourage Jazz to continue to pee there. I correct her if I see her squat (and I've even laid in wait looking for opportunities to catch her. ) Her choice to pee there is completely random. She might squat in the hall not 10 minutes after she's peed on the pad. It might be three hours. There's no rhyme or reason.

I KNOW she can hold her pee. She's crated daily, and has NEVER had an accident in her crate, even on a couple of occasions when I was delayed getting home and she was crated for 9 hours straight! She's routinely crated for 5 - 7 hours and easily holds her pee for that long.