Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,089 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am in a situation where I am in the market for a puppy with show potential. The purpose of this dog is to experience the show scene. I am brand new to showing. I have located appropriate classes to get started and my breeder is willing to work with me one on one. My current three are from the same reputable breeder who has proven show success. I am selecting a puppy eventually from this breeder. She has earned my trust and we have developed a friendship. My breeder has been keeping her eye out for a puppy that might be right for me. She had a litter born this weekend with a puppy she has gotten me excited about. Realistically, we know it is way too early but I am first in line for her assuming she pans out in the 8-10 week mark. She is from champion lines on both both sides (her sire is a current champion). Her Dam has 31 champions in her pedigree and her sire had over 50 in his pedigree. Hence she has good genes and she is expected to be 4.0-4.5 pounds. She is white and fawn with black sabling. My question is what are the points you should be looking for in an 8-10 week old puppy? I have a very good relationship with my breeder but still I want to make sure I know as much as possible. My list so far is below:

Height/length ratio
Tail set
Top line
Head shape
Muzzle length (snout)
Confidence/personality

Finally- I am fully aware there are no guarentees but is 8-10 weeks the point you can get a pretty good idea of their adult shape/conformation?

Thanks. I have no super high hopes for success (at least initially) but starting with a dog with right potential is critical.

Here's a picture of her. Love her symmetrical markings.

·
Premium Member
1,786 Posts
I don't know a thing, but I sure enjoy looking at the precious tiny mites.

·
Administrator
5,713 Posts