Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone :wave:
Apologies if something similar to this has been posted before.
I am a newbie to the site and I'm hoping to become a chi mommy later on in the year so I'm doing my homework.
I am wanting to litter box train as me and my boyfriend both work but what is the best way of training her to use it?

Any advice appreciated.

Thank you

Kay :)

·
Registered
39 Posts
My dog Baxter is litterbox trained and it was quite easy. I just covered the floor with newspaper when I got him and let him go wees etc on the paper. I then made the papered area smaller and smaller.
When the paper area was really small and he was only going on the paper I put the paper into a litterbox, and he started going in there.
He had the occasional accident, but picked it up vey quickly.
He will also go to the toilet when we are on walks, but unfortunately doesn't know how to ask to go outside when he needs to go (as I live in an apartment and he can't get downstairs in time) so when i am at friends places I just make sure I take him outside every hour or so.

·
Registered
434 Posts
they sell litter box for dog, which is what we use for Tofu. At first we just use the wee wee pad. after he was used to that we place the pad inside the litter box. at first we didn't plan to use the litter box, but ocasionally he would peed half way outside the pad and the floor. he think as long as one of his foot is in the pad he's safe. the litter box we use is to let him know that he has to step in all the way to do his business :) but don't worry, they catch on quick, just be patient and give alot of praise and treat everytime your baby does it right, good luck.

·
Registered
2,928 Posts
tofu said: