Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an embarrassing problem, Rupert is 16 weeks and still will not walk on lead. He may take a couple of steps and then dig in the heels and point blank refuses to walk. People in the street comment on how 'tired' he must be with the little legs he has, we all know three steps cannot wear out a chi!! He walks so well off lead and loves running up and down our paddock, yet clip that lead on and he refuses to co operate! I have tried coaxing with treats and my vet suggested cream cheese on a wooden spoon for him to follow. Has anyone else had this problem and do they grow out of it?

·
Registered
4,436 Posts
Still a baby that doesn't understand what you want! Thinks the leash is a restraint!! PATIENCE!! He will come around & get the idea. Gently tug on the leash & talk softly coaxing him to come along! One day it will click like he knew how to walk on the leash all along. Don't give up! When you are getting ready to take him for a walk, act all excited & make sure to say to him, "Ready to go for a walk!" Let him know it's a fun thing to do.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Try getting a couple of treats and hold it out in front of him while he is on the lead. When he walks to the treat praise him. Then you can have him walk a little farther each time to get the treat. It does hurt your back after a little while so hopefully he will pick up on it quickly, lol. I have also heard of others putting a small amount of peanut butter on a wooden stirring spoon and holding it out in front of him. I will also let them be in the house with the lead on but just let it drag behind him so he can get used to the feel of it on his neck (supervised of course).

·
Registered
3,287 Posts