Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to this fourm so glad to find this forum. My concern is that on Wednesday my doggie broke her leg. I immediately took her to the emergency vet and they put a splint on her. Last night I notice that a couple of times she would cry when she tried to get up and walk. Once she is up she seems okay. The vet didn't give me any pain medicine to give her. Is this normal for her to still be in pain if she is wearing the splint on her leg?? Is there any pain medicine I could give her?? Should I be concern and take her back to the vet? Please help me with any suggestions this is the first time I have been thru this :(.

·
Registered
3,090 Posts
You need to find a different vet, broken legs are EXTREMELY painful, even wearing a splint, all the splint does is stabilize the bones so they heal 'straight' as possible. They do nothing for the pain other than make it so everytime your dog walks it isn't standing on the broken part. She needs pain medications. There really is nothing 'safe' that you can give her at home. She should have her splint changed at least every 5-7 days as well. Sorry your baby is in pain.

·
Registered
4,436 Posts
I'm sure someone with experience in this area will get to you soon. I can't believe your vet didn't give anything for pain. Have you tried contacting your vet to let him know what's going on? It's important that the bones heal correctly. They may not be splinted right where the bones can heal right. Keeps up posted.
How did your baby break his leg?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4