Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello all. i'm new here. let me start off by saying that i own a chi, my first so i'm new to the breed. i own 5 dogs, a pit, a rott, 2 springers and of course bella our chihuahua. see, i kinda accidently rescued her from my mother who has this BYB thing going on. she bought bella to breed with her male but something happened. anyways when i was given bella she had spent her whole life in a crate.....she is almost a year old and we're her 3rd home. anyways she's loved now. i have noticed that she barks alot and is very unsure of herself, others and her surroundings. i'm trying to socialize her, i've taken her to work with me (i'm a groomer) to meet other dogs and she's fine. it's people. she tends to bark/growl and run to hide. i usually make her face the situation where i go get her from whereever she's hiding and sit next to me while i'm talking to a "stranger" it's not seeming to work. she's perfect at home plays with the big dogs, loves to play with my fiance, tackles the cat...it's when we take her places. she's fine if she's in my lap. doesn't shake or bark but growls when people come close so i tend not to have her in my lap when meeting people. i guess i need some hints. i've tried food and she won't take it even when the person isn't looking, talking, or touching her. she's not deaf and she can see perfectly fine (she's a chocolate meral, just thought i'd throw that in there) so i know she's not being fearful because her abilities aren't hindered. any advice would be greatly appreciated. also shes a barker. probably nothing i can do about that but tips are welcome too. i'm attaching pics for you guys :)

·
Administrator
11,989 Posts
Welcome to the board! :)

That is sad about your mom's byb and her keeping her in a cage :-( Now she has you though :) I think she is beautiful and I lover her eyes and ears. I dont get to see to many Chocolate Merle's :)