Chihuahua People Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2,337 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok well, I have been putting it off and putting it off...but Poppy is now 7.5 months old and today I called the vet to make arrangements to have her spayed...and it looks like its going to be this weekend !! :shock:
I am really dreading it...poor little girl! I know that they all have to go through it but I have to have an interpreter with me whenever I speak to the vet (she doesnt speak English and I dont speak Chinese!)
She told me that I could take her home after the operation, but that they recommend keeping her in overnight for observation. What would you guys do? As everything in China, the whole thing is ridiculously cheap...around $100 for everything including the op, anaesthetic, after meds, blood work and an overnight stay.I am just a wreck because this vet is the only one for hundreds of miles..I trust her...but I am still so tense.Please everyone, fingers crossed for my baby Poppy! :(

·
Registered
15,323 Posts
Poppy will do just fine! I don't know what I would do. Mine are boys and I've heard neutering isn't as major a procedure as spaying. I'm assuming that if she stayed overnight there would be vet tech's there with her? If that is the case that sounds good. :wink: That would be a difficult decision!

·
Registered
2,337 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Kari...I think if there are going to be vet techs there all night, I will leave her in their care, but if its a case of leaving her alone, I would rather take her home and be with her myself....I wish it was over!!! :(

·
Registered
3,815 Posts