Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi friends! I am new to this thread but ever so thankful I found it.
I have a new 3 month old female/spayed chi in my home - her name is Ruby. She was a rescue from a organization based out of California (so my little girl had to take a flight across country to get to me here in Maine.) I have several questions and would greatly appreciate your feedback and response to each, based on your experience and knowledge. This is my first baby chi ever and I am really wanting to raise and train her right. Also, sorry for the long post, but I want to make sure I am explaining thoroughly each case scenario.

1.) I work 8 hours a day, at night I crate Ruby in my bedroom/next to my bed. She is totally fine and already sleeps straight through the night. In the morning, she wakes, I ttake her out, feed her breakfast & allow her to run around the kitchen and I play with her for a good 30-45 minutes, then she goes into a pen while I get ready for work.
During the day she remains in her pen with her food/water, lots of toys, and another small crate for sleeping. She stays in the pen most of the day, but my retired mom is there to watch her and take her out every 2-2.5 hours regularly... as we are trying to housebreak her. When I get home, I take her for a walk and play with her, feed her dinner in her pen, let her out again for play for 1/2 hour before she is taken out for one last potty trip, then put to bed in her crate. I ask, is leaving her in the pen most of the day going to create a behavior issue or make her have separation anxiety, or is this what most people are doing while acclimating the new puppy & house training??