Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Meet Pixie!
She came home with us yesterday and is our first dog/chihuahua. (My wife had one growing up--I had a golden retriever)

DSC_0721 by misterbremer, on Flickr

DSC_0750 by misterbremer, on Flickr

I have some questions. One... can anyone point me to some good resources for new owners? I've started browsing this forum a bit already, but thought somebody might be able to narrow down my search.

She is seven weeks old. I'm a teacher and the kids are off, so we have lots of time to spend with her. She already calms down when anyone in the family holds her.

Advice or suggestions welcome!
Thanks!

·
Banned
51 Posts
Congrats on your new addition first thing I will say is she is too young to be away from her mum and litter mates chis should stay eith their litter until 12 weeks (some let go at 8 weeksthey are still too young but 7 weeks is way to young!!)

Not your fault you weren't to know just the breeders problem! Is she eating solids?? I'd not I would soften her food up (what are you feeding her??) take her to the toilet every half an hour or when she starts shoeing signs.

Keep an eye out for hypoglycaemia, glazed eyes, listless, shaking etc there's plenty of info available if she is showing signs then give her some nutrical or honey if you have it but make sure you follow that with some food otherwise her sugars will peak and then shr will crash again. They go down hill quickly and will die!!

Obviously she can't go where other dogs are etc due to not having her vaccinations I would get her vet checked and vaccinated.

I would also worm her, as the 'breeder' let her go so early I very much doubt she would be on a good worming regime as a baby so maybe full of worms speak to your vet and get a good wormer.. Milbemax or panacure are good for pups. She will need worming again at 12 weeks (however they may want to do it again sooner if she hasn't been previously wormed)