Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I just wanted to introduce myself. I recently adopted Juan from a family that no longer wanted him about a week ago. He's a little over one year old and I simply adore him! I've never owned a Chi but have owned Shitzus. He is unlike any other dog i've met. So far things are going great except for the fact that he never "tells" me that he has to go potty, I just take him out about every hour or so. Is this normal in Chi's? Will he eventually "tell" me when he has to go when he becomes more acclimated to his surroundings? Thanks for the help!

·
Premium Member
12,272 Posts
Hi and welcome,my chi always scratches the door to go out,my Sheltie never asks i just let him out every couple of hours

·
Registered
89 Posts
Welcome and I'm new to chi's also! I'm learning lot's here. I have found this forrum to be beyond helpful and full of kind people.

·
Registered
195 Posts
my two pretty much will tell me when they want to go out by running to the back door and back to me etc but i always will let them out after every single nap and meal times.

Congratulations on your new arrival you must be very excited :)

·
Registered
36 Posts
Hello! I just wanted to introduce myself. I recently adopted Juan from a family that no longer wanted him about a week ago. He's a little over one year old and I simply adore him! I've never owned a Chi but have owned Shitzus. He is unlike any other dog i've met. So far things are going great except for the fact that he never "tells" me that he has to go potty, I just take him out about every hour or so. Is this normal in Chi's? Will he eventually "tell" me when he has to go when he becomes more acclimated to his surroundings? Thanks for the help!

Welcome :) Glad you're enjoying your chi. To answer your question..no. He's not going to eventually know that he needs to alert you when he has to go out , lol.. you have to train him to do so. :D

·