Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI there

I have added a new family member called Rocco, he is now nearly 10 weeks old and i have had him for about a week now. He is doing fine health wise and I am feeding him on james wellbeloved puppy kibble. I have no experience in chihuahua puppies so i would like some advice when putting my puppy to bed. We put him in the dining room with his bed and he seems to howl most of the night. We have tried putting a hot water bottle in bed in case he was cold with an extra blanket and a teddy and last night I resorted to trying leaving a radio on but nothing seems to have worked. He has the run of the dining room cos I dont see the point of putting him in a cage due to the fact we leave water & food out for him all night. Also he hasn't worked out how to poo and wee on his training mats yet so cant see him lasting all night.

·
Registered
10,596 Posts
Hi and welcome.
Firstly i would love to see pics of Rocco, we love pics here. lol

Anyway with mine i have always used a crate to start with and had it in my bedroom at night.
I put it next to my bed.
This worked a treat for Darla as a puppy.
I also didnt leave food and water out all night cause then they will poo and pee.
For a few weeks i set an alarm and got up to let them pee etc...every 2 to 3 hours.
This was only when they were weeks old mind you and couldnt hold it for the full night.
I placed a blanket over the crate and had a heating pad that you put in the microwave.
Also a blanket i had been sleeping with, or just something with my scent on it.

Dillon howled constantly in the crate though so after a good few atempts with that i just let him sleep in the bed with me and the girls too.
Only cause my neighbours complained otherwise i would have kept at it till he was a bit older, then let him in bed.
All of them last till 8am when i get up now.

Their last meal is at 10pm and i lift the water after that too.