Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Banned
3,566 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I did this for a 21st birthday card, I thought it would be a nice guesture to paint the persons horse anyway can I have some opinions please I'm a terrible judge of my own work, btw it is a digital painting done in Corel painter.

The original photo I had

·
Registered
687 Posts
It's really nice, seems to lack a bit of definition though - like you've done the base colouring but not the detailing? A nice way of doing that would be to blow up the picture then use a smallish brush to add in some scratchy darker shading in places, then resize and it will look spiffy. It looks a bit blurry now is all.

I hope you don't take offence by my crits - I work as an artist for another site and i'm really used to giving out crits to people who are required to have a thick skin!

·
Banned
3,566 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
well its only going to be 10cm x 15cm soo detail will be wasted but I was thinking of detailing it up more if I want to make it an A4 print sadly umm the photo I have to work with isnt amazing so I need to go back to the reference if that makes sense,. That said thats the JPEG of it the actual painter file is slighty clearer, the quaility just disappears as soon as I changed the format.

haha dont worry hun I work in the industry I'm used to having my work ripped to pieces daily, and the yrs of uni werent easy either ;) Plus it was a last minute thing I did up tonight as I couldnt find any cards I liked, umm I must remember to plan ahead from now on and give myself longer than 24 hours ooops

·
Registered
687 Posts
Oh I think it's amazing considering your ref :) Especially as its black and white! If it's going to be even smaller, I agree detail isn't totally necessary, I guess I'm just so used to inking and having a definite outline!

Whoever you're drawing it for is going to love it I'm sure :)

·
Banned
3,566 Posts
Discussion Starter #6