Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my luna wont eat unless i make her i have to stand right next to the bowl and watch her eat for her to stay eating ...

and she will only drink water from her travel doggy water bowl

with luna being only 3 pounds i worry alot and maybe im being silly but is this normal ?

i went from fosterng great danes to having a 3 pound doggy im new to this whole tiny tot thing !

i will say small doggys are so much easier and great for snuggle love !!:p

·
Registered
2,206 Posts
If she's hungry, she will eat. Are you free feeding her?

It's not a good idea to make her eating dependent on you being with her in order for her to eat. What if you have to leave her with someone? What if she gets ill and has to stay overnight at the vets?

She needs to be able to eat on her own, and if she's hungry she will. Dogs will NOT starve themselves, as long as they're healthy. If she's not on a feeding schedule, put her on one. You don't say how old she is, but if she's an adult, she can be fed 2X a day, once in the morning and once at night, just enough to keep her at her ideal weight.