Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. Im new to this excellent forum so please excuse me if i have placed this in the wrong section :rolleyes:
I am thinking of adopting a chihuahua, and while I was browsing through this forum, I noticed that somewhere it stated pine oils were dangerous.
I have two guinea pigs in an enclosed indoor cage, and they live on kiln dried pine woodshavings.
They do occasionly kick some shavings out, but i have my handheld hoover, which i use around their cage daily.
My question is, would the pine shavings in the cage hurt a chihuahua? :confused:
If i did get a chihuahua it would obviously not be able to get in the cage.
Another question is, would a chihuahua eat hay? I give the guinea pigs hay and it is placed in a hayrack, but would a chi be able to reach up and get it? :/ If so would it hurt a chi?
Thank you in advance :) x

·
Administrator
11,989 Posts
Hi and welcome to the board!

I am not sure how to answer your question. I know there are certain things that even the small animals are not supposed to use as bedding and cedar shavings are dangerous for all of them but I am not sure about what you are using and how it would affect a Chi?

Hopefully someone will chime in soon that can help :)

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your welcome Yoshismom :)
I know that kiln dried pine shavings are fine for small animals. I would of thought that it wouldnt hurt a chi, as it doesnt hurt my baby piggies (6 months old) and they are much smaller than a chihuahua.
I just want to be sure before adopting a chi :)

·
Registered
355 Posts