Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i havent switched permanently, i am studying a national diploma in animal management and i have been taught that dogs are omnivores. i belive this to be true but some people on the forum are feeding purley meat, which is what you would feed a carnivore. i have been taught that they need more than just meat is this true ?

·
Registered
6,266 Posts
haha id love to do raw but atm with Hope and haaving a few of them id be much to worried id happily put Pumpkin on raw im planning to feed her on large kibble and Tripe which i was recommended by her breeder.

·
Registered
5,286 Posts
i havent switched permanently, i am studying a national diploma in animal management and i have been taught that dogs are omnivores. i belive this to be true but some people on the forum are feeding purley meat, which is what you would feed a carnivore. i have been taught that they need more than just meat is this true ?
you know I've been thinking this too, i've heard that you should give vegs, and fruits

i was looking at a natural magazine at work and i saw this website

https://secure.balanceit.com/_clients2/index.php

looks good

·
Registered
14,441 Posts
Nah. Dogs are carnivores. Just look at their teeth. Compare to a cow's. :) Having said that, they are also opportunistic and will scavenge when given the chance. I don't believe they need veggies or fruits at all. However, I will occasionally give Brody cooked veggies off our plates or a bite of a piece of fruit. It's not a big part of his diet though. Way less than 10% of his total intake. More of a snack. If you decide to do veggies, remember that whole veggies will just pass on through and nutrients won't be absorbed. To be processed, you must break down the cellulose wall. So if you feed veggies at all, make sure they are smashed up, blended, pulverized.