Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
488 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Three weeks ago, I had to euthanize my 14-year-old pug/Jack Russell mix dog. I rescued him two weeks after I graduated from college, so he had been a constant presence my whole adult life. I don't know what to do with myself without a dog! I also want my daughter, who just turned 2, to grow up with dogs. I am hoping she and the new dog will become buddies as she gets older.

I was guessing that it would be very hard for me to rescue a Chihuahua with a toddler in the house, but I found a rescue that is very open to young children, even with tiny dogs! They regularly get Chihuahua type dogs transported here to Connecticut from other parts of the country where they would be euthanized. This is the guy we met today (he is actually around 7 pounds, I weighed him):
https://www.petfinder.com/petdetail/35365989

I am also talking with a show Chihuahua breeder in Mass. who has a 7 pound, 18-month-old dog she is wanting to place because he is way oversize for a show/breeding dog. He is also black and tan, but a long coat, and I am partial to the smooths. He has also never been around kids.

This is my conundrum: do I take a chance on a sturdy-looking dog with an unknown background, or try for a show-bred dog with a skull that I worry is unhealthy? (I can post separately on that issue) The rescue dog was remarkably composed for being in a noisy, strange environment after spending all day in a cage in a moving vehicle. He was even eating! I liked that confidence, and the fact that I am saving a life and opening a place for another dog. I just have no idea if he is crate trained, housebroken, or has separation anxiety, all of which is known with the show dog.

Thanks for reading. I guess I just needed to write it all down to help me think about it, and your feedback is valuable to me too!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6,172 Posts