Chihuahua People Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello:
I know this is probably a really common topic. However I am new to getting a Chi and I am having a fairly hard time training him to go to the bathroom in the right spots.

I do have pee pads set out and I will get up and put him on then - He sits down on them looks at me and then walks away - only to pee on the floor 1 foot away. GRR! LOL.

He does however poop on them - but I have moved them so that the spot where he commonly goes poop is where the pads are located.

Alot of people seem to say treats. He's 11 weeks old and he's only 1 pound, 10 ounces. Even the smallest treats that I have found are rather big for him and upon breaking them down sometimes he can't eat those either. HELP!

I would like to say that if I take him outside he will use the restroom - we live in upstate NY though so right now most days are just to cold for him.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. He's really a wonderful dog! <3 and I love him to death; but I would loveeeeeeeeeeeeee it if he went potty in the correct spots lmao.

Thanks everyone.
Teresa:foxes15:

·
Premium Member
12,272 Posts
He's adorable,as Dottie was so small i used" DOGS "chocolate buttons (not human) for training as they are so soft,only gave her a quarter ,as soon as she woke up onto the pee pad,watch carefully first sign of wanting a pee ,on the pad,also if he's going poop on the pads give him a treat and lots of praise,sure he'll get the idea soon

·
Registered
206 Posts
I'm in love with his little face! Remember, God made puppies cute so we wouldn't kill them when they did stuff like this! ;)

Another thing you could try is placing the pad into a box/tub of some nature (which you will want when he's grown up a bit, in case he decides to lift his leg - which he *may* even if he is neutered) as this will sort of contain him a bit. Less exits for you to guard. :)

·
Registered
1,191 Posts