Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
530 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How big of a fault is an underbite in a dog? Should a dog with an underbite autimatically be eliminated from a breeding program or would it be ok as long as the bitch has a good bite and his conformation is good otherwise? Is this a trait that is easily bred out?

I am interested in breeding in the future...I've already read two books on puppy obedience, three on chihuahuas and two on breeding...but still want to learn more. :)

Thanks,
Jessi

·
Registered
3,110 Posts
Hi there! I have been breeding for 15 yrs and Yes it does exclude them from breeding. You never want to breed if they have any genetic default. IE.... under or over shot bite, lauxcating patella, floppy ears, etc....

I have a beautiful little boy Scooby I was going to use as a stud however discovered that he has a undershot bite and now cannot breed him. You want to always breed to enhance the quality of the Chihuahua. If your bitch has a longer head, you will want to breed her to a nice Cobby (apple head) male. You always try to exceed the quality of the stud to the faults of your bitch. Makes for beautiful puppies.

·
Registered
530 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you... that is pretty much what I thought, unfortunately Charlie has an underbite, I was trying to decide if I should get him neutered or wait but I was pretty sure that I shouldn't breed him with the underbite...too bad he's so great otherwise his coat is really starting to come in. :(

I had another question about eye color, the standard says dark or luminous ruby but it also says light eyes are exceptable in blonde or white dogs. I guess I'm not sure what luminous ruby looks like? And what would it look like in a puppy? since their eyes change...Charlie's were blue/green when I got him.

Thanks,
Jessi :flower:

·
Registered
3,110 Posts