Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi :)
This is my first time posting, however I've been reading for months !
A little less than 2 weeks ago I finally got the courage to start my 2 chihuahuas (Joey and Coco) on a raw diet. I decided I would start with the Nature's Variety Instinct Raw before going all out lol. They took to it very well :)

A few days ago I realized Joey was shedding ALOT more than usual. He wasn't a big shedder before. He had a nice thick coat.
Today I decided to brush him to get the dead hair off and I'm shocked. So much came out. The hair on his back is VERY thin and now his skin is flaky.

He doesn't have allergies (that I know of). I really hate to take him off the raw because the benefits I've noticed already are amazing. He used to be a very lethargic dog, and now he has SO much energy. But I obviously can't have him going bald.

Has this happened to anyone?!

·
Registered
14,441 Posts
I haven't seen it happen personally, but I have heard of it happening to a few others. What variety of Nature's Instinct is he on? If it is chicken or turkey, I'd switch him to a red meat right away. Not sure what they have... beef? Lamb? Venison? Pork? Any of those.

Some new raw feeders talk about a "de-toxing" period that their dogs go through. They can get greasy fur, lose fur, dandruff, etc. Supposedly it is the skin/coat and body going through a detoxification and that manifests through coat/skin. Once the old hair is gone, a new healthy coat grows in and is very luxurious and full. That is second hand information though, I haven't seen that happen myself.

I would give him a warm bath and really scrub him and massage that skin and get all of that dead skin/coat out. Use a high quality shampoo and conditioner. I'd also add in some coconut oil. You can use it topically as well as orally.

Let us know how he is doing! I will be following this thread. :)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3