Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So many question. I read the thread and it said that I should start her with bone-in chicken. That's fine cause its not expensive and we get ours from a butcher cheap. I know with some foods you have to mix do you with the raw diet? Or can we just go straight to it? Her teeth aren't healthy so can I cut some of the bones in smaller pieces? Cause no way is she going to get a chicken breast in her little mouth. She is too small. Also I would rather mix the food myself than buy pre made. Recipes?

·
Read Only
1,949 Posts
You can get chicken wings instead of bone in breast... They are easy for them to crunch through. You start raw cold turkey because it digests at a different rate than kibble, so you can't feed them together.

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm not good with a calculator. She is small maybe 2 or three lbs. I think a whole wing would be too much. I can cut and freeze the rest not a problem, but when I start integrating the organs can I also add some carbs? I don't need her losing weight.

·
Registered
354 Posts
Are you referring to mixing the food to gradually make the switch from one to another?

Personally, I've never bought into that theory. In the very beginning, Teddy used to get slightly loose stools when I switched his food, yes. But I kept doing it. I'd wait a week or two until he was used to one food, then switch brands or flavors on him. I did it pretty rapidly for a few months while he was young. Now he doesn't get a stomach ache if I switch his food, just like you don't get a stomach ache if you eat chicken for dinner tonight and a hamburger for lunch tomorrow.

I don't feed raw myself. I tried pre-made raw (Instinct) but Teddy didn't like it. :( So I can't help as far as recipes.