Chihuahua People Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Everyone!

As some of you may know, I'm new to the world of Chi's and I'm still in the learning stages. I've read so much info on the net and else where and one thing that keeps popping up is Merle. Some folk seem to think it's wrong to have and breed Merle Chi's, and others seem to think it's fine :rolleyes: I really don't understand and I'm totally confused :confused: Can someone explain what the problem is with Merle Chi's? It's only a colour, isn't it? What's so bad about owning this colour Chi or breeding this colour? I really don't get it? On one website I saw it said "Say NO to Merle!" Why?

Can anyone explain, please?

Thanks folks :)

·
Registered
6,764 Posts
It's kind of confusing. Someone here can tell you about the gene pool part of it. If you breed two dogs with merle in their background, your merle can be deaf or blind or be born with serious genetic issues or major problems. It's like breeding two dapples in the doxie world. I know the specifics of it but can't explain like some people on here can. I would be very careful if I ever got a merle. Would want to know history, parents, grandparents, etc.

·
Registered
454 Posts