Chihuahua People Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,425 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For the more experienced sewers out there, I have attempted a few times to create some shirts and coats for Cooper in the past and have failed miserably all times. I am not experienced when it comes to the sewing machine, although I have used one on ocassion and have a working knowledge of them.

I have attempted the "free pattern" that most of you have used (I actually paid $1.00 for it at the fabric store) and I have tried many different kinds of fabrics from fleece to the pre-packaged cotton quilting squares. They always turn out looking like a 2 year old hand sewed them and I get embarassed for Cooper when I try them on him. (They never fit right, either.)

My problem seems to be that the pattern/clothing is so small, I can't seem to work the machine around the fabric. Can anyone give me any tips or helpful hints for my next attempt?

·
Registered
534 Posts
HI......when you sew the neck....make sure to allow an extra inch for seams and overlap....same on the belly....I always measure the girls first, then make the dress/harness about 2-3 inches bigger. When you cut the pattern out...dry fit it....then sew a few loose stitches and fit it again. When I was first trying, Mine looked like crud...I cried I was so frustrated...now it takes only about an hour to make one. Keep practicing! It will be worth it in the end! You can look at them here! Good luck!
http://community.webshots.com/user/soulstorms30

·
Registered
661 Posts
also, once you've sewn around the entire harness (except for the one opening you will turn it thru), clip up to the stitching on all the curves (notch triangles out on the curves that are inward to remove the extra bulk).