Chihuahua People Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5,807 Posts
I've had limited experience with seizures but I'm appalled at your vet's response. :shock: Please insist that your vet or preferably another one see your dog as soon as possible, at least to do blood work. It is absolutely not true that the meds are more harmful than the seizures themselves. Why on earth would people put their dogs on anti-seizure medication if that were true??? :? Either he misunderstood you or you misunderstood him or he's an idiot. Just my opinion.

My Lily had an extremely mild seizure last October, her first in the 2+ years that I'd had her. I took her to the emergency vet (because it happened on a weekend) where they examined her, did blood work and told me there was, in fact, nothing that could be done AT THAT TIME. The blood work turned up nothing unusual, but at least I knew that.

I was told to keep a diary to document any further seizures (time of day, duration, description of her symptoms and reactions, etc.); if a pattern were to emerge, then they could determine if medication would be required. She has had two more seizures since, each about 3 months apart. I had blood work done again after the 2nd seizure, even though I knew it was probably a waste of time and money (but I'm as overly protective of Lily as any owner could be :lol: ). Still no meds are indicated after three seizures in total.

It's very possible - and it certainly seems likely - that the fight with the poodle did more severe damage than you imagined. I'd want her looked at regardless of what that vet is telling you. That's just me... but you seem like such a responsible and loving owner, I would be surprised if you didn't agree. There are several (maybe numerous?) causes for seizures and you need to rule out as many as possible going forward.